Fuel gauge - what a pain

eye30 · 12 · 8955

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
My new i30 has a "bar" fuel gauge and to be honest I'm not a big fan of it.

Give me the needle gauge any day.

What I am finding is when it is on 3 bars it seems to be there for loads of miles, about 50 plus.

When on 2 bars it seems to drop to 1 bar after about 20 miles.

As soon as it drops to 1 bar the low fuel light comes on but I'm not sure how much fuel is left. 

Yesterday in all the rain etc I was stopped on the motorway, due to accident further along, and while at tickover 1 bar appeared and the low fuel light came on.

I was only 5 miles from home so not a problem as I would expect there to be at least 1 gallon, 4.546l.

Anyone else with the "bar" gauge got any views on how much is left when the low fuel light comes on?

• 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
I did a careful check of the fuel gauge. This is the result. Note that I always brim the tank - and I do mean absolutely brim the tank - each time I buy fuel.

Odo Trip Distance       Fuel Gauge          Trip Distance          Predicted Range
Since Refuelling         No. of bars          Miles to Empty              Miles

0                              12                       498                        498
     107                           11                       392                        499
     271                           10                       391                        662
     Not noted                   9                       
     343                            8                        320                        663
     376                            7                        288                        664