i30 Owners Club

Best Tyre for Mileage and Noise?

brownen · 23 · 12361

Offline brownen

• 1st Gear
Hi all,
apologies if this is in the wrong place.
I currently have what I believe is the standard tyres on my i30 1.6 CRDi (Hankook I think)
But the noise is a tad offputting at times, I do a hell of a lot of miles and a lot of motorway driving, what would you say is the best tyre to go for (I only need the front 2 replacing, the back 2 seem fine).
I bow to your superior knowledge and experience if anyone can help please?

Thanks
Neil

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
I replaced the stock hankook with the same and I found the new ones ok.

The old ones where made in Korea whereas the new ones are Czech.

I wonder whether the tyre compound is different which gives better reduced noise/ firmer ride.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline baroudeur

• 5th Gear

• gb United Kingdom
I replaced the stock hankook with the same and I found the new ones ok.

The old ones where made in Korea whereas the new ones are Czech.

I wonder whether the tyre compound is different which gives better reduced noise/ firmer ride.

Aren't the Czech/Slovak built cars on Hungarian Hankooks.....mine is?

The new tyre regulations require tyres to be sold with noise, wet grip and rolling resistance gradings shown.

http://www.atseuromaster.co.uk/assets/files/Tyre%20Labelling%20FAQs.pdf

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
My previous i30 had Hankooks which were really noisy. You may recall a long thread I started when I used a decibel meter to measure the noise levels before changing all 4 tyres at only 3000 miles to Yokohama Decibel low noise tyres. The Yokohama were better - but not by a million miles.