20 things you didn’t know about the Apple Mac

eye30 · 13 · 1994

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
The machine that kick-started a home computing revolution celebrates its 30th birthday.

Read more here:

20 things you didn?t know about the Apple Mac - BT
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
 :goodjob:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline The Gonz

• Admin
  • Afghanistan Vet

• au Australia
      Adelaide

• Callsign GUNZ
I must be pretty geeky. Despite not owning an Apple, I knew just about all of those. Typo correction:
'64GB - that’s 536,870,912KB'
should have read
'64GB - that's 67,108,864KB'
but they probably meant to say
'64GB - that's 512 times the original 128KB'

Whichever way, the number given makes sense only as a representation of 512MB*. Journalists trying their hand at engineering. :rolleyes:

---------------------------------------
* Binary (power of 2) systems do not hold the same value for K, M, G, T as the metric system. Each metric 1000 is 1024.

512 MegaBytes itself is a product of binary progression. Hence 512MB is 512 x 1024 x 1024 = 536,870,912.

Expressing it entirely as binary multiples you have
(2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2) x ((2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2) x ((2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2x2)
or in true binary where 0 is 0, 1 is 1 and 2 is 10
512MB is 100000000000000000000000000000.

Ah, the beauty of 1 and 0, the language any switch can understand. Build a few trillion into a machine and there's your computer! :victory:
  • Frugal Firty: FDSLXCRDi5spHyperSilverBodyKit+Mods & MrsG'sPDSRPrem

Offline Phil №❶

• Top Gear
  • Loco, most of the time!

• au Australia
      Mos Eisley, South Australia
Here's an idea for you, Gonz