Paint blending - Comments/Advice please

eye30 · 52 · 13974

Online eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
I've put this here rather than part of my other thread re car accident...

Ok so I may be getting car back tomorrow but I've got to ask a few questions.

I've been told that the new wing, bonnet and bumper have been resprayed but have now told me that they have "blended" in the wing which wasn't damaged.

Is "blending" an acceptable method?

What should I be looking for to ensure that the paint is correct on all the car i.e how can I ensure that the original back/side are the same as the wings/bonnet/bumper?

What should I be looking for to ensure the paintwork has been done correctly?
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Nothing better than good old eyeballing mate.

If it looks good to you, it'll look good to anyone.

And vice-versa.
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Pip
About 40 years ago I had some "blending" done. As far as I could tell it was only done because the paint colour did not match. Look critically at the result. These days there is no excuse for mismatched paint and I'd suspect the guy might have "mixed his own" from what he already had.

As said though, if you can't see it (assuming you have a good eye) then it's done well enough.

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
I had some dent and paint repairs done on my drive by a mobile guy. I posted a thread on here about it probably a year ago.