Diesel drivers need to do 100k to benefit fuel efficiency

eye30 · 18 · 5224

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
The distance diesel drivers must cover to recoup the higher cost of their vehicle through greater fuel efficiency has reached 98,684 miles, according to the AA.

Read more: 

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/money/cars/article-2345194/Petrol-prices-edge-month-says-AA.html#ixzz2WrMbXv6u 
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline asathorny

• V.I.P
  • Wonky Donkey

• england England
      Manchester City centre

• Curmudgeon
Cripes I have just passed 18.000.  It appears that I may have made to correct decisions for once  :goodjob: :goodjob: :goodjob:

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Cripes I have just passed 18.000.  It appears that I may have made to correct decisions for once  :goodjob: :goodjob: :goodjob:
:goodjob:
Due to my low,low mileage that's why I bought a petrol rather than another diesel.

Also, the DPF thingy came into consideration.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
SO, in theory, my 106,000 miles are now making me money! Woohoo!

More driving coming right up :lol:
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
I wonder if the AA took the generally higher resale value of diesel cars into account?

From what I have seen they fetch back up to 50% of the extra you pay for them at resale time.

Due to Trish's low annual mileage, I still think we did the right thing getting her the petrol version though.