i30 Owners Club

Steering Rack to be replaced

Duke750 · 14 · 6817

Offline Duke750

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Buderim
I have just returned from the service dept - the steering rack needs to be replaced on my SX. The symptoms were a grating and grinding noise when turning the wheel at low speeds.

Only 7,000kms

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Streuth  :shock:  unlucky mate. At least it's been caught early
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
What was the build date on your car?
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Quote from: "eye30"
What was the build date on your car?

My guess is a Friday afternoon at 4.55pm... ;)
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline timmmmm

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Central Coast NSW
My SLX had a rattling / loose feel intermittently when you rocked the steering wheel left and right whilst standing still. I told them at the 15000km service and they have ordered a new steering rack also.

My question will be should they be doing a wheel alignment after the rack is replaced??

Offline MRH130

• 4th Gear

• au Australia
      Canberra

• Was Crystal the i30 SR, now Courtney the Getz-tacy
Absolutely they must do a wheel alignment when changing the rack. And Hyundai will pay the dealer for it so don't let the dealer try to charge you or deny it needs doing.