Pilotless passenger planes to take first test flights over UK

eye30 · 36 · 7920

Online eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
The future is here now..................

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/pilotless-passenger-planes-to-take-first-test-flights-over-uk-143538850.html

A few days from now, a Jetstream aircraft will take off from an airfield in Warton, Lancashire - and then the pilots will take their hands off the controls.

The pilots will be racks of computers which can steer the aircraft by themselves.

• 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
I've thought up a brilliantly novel name for it.

Autopilot.

Brilliant.
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net

Offline mjt57

• 5th Gear

• au Australia
      Country Victoria

A few days from now, a Jetstream aircraft will take off from an airfield in Warton, Lancashire - and then the pilots will take their hands off the controls.

Get back to us when the pilots don't have to be on board at all,

:cool:

And the computers can deal with malfunctions such as sudden gusts on final, or if an aircraft wanders onto the runway just before the flare, or if a bird strike forces and engine to be shut down and the aircraft still needs to climb away, do a fuel dump, if equipped, and return to land.

There are so many things that could go wrong that I wouldn't want a computer or even a remote controlled pilot anywhere near the aircraft that I'm paxing in...

• 2014 Hyndai ix35 Highlander TD/2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited CRD

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid