i30 Owners Club

Incorrect speedometer readings.

WxmJax · 36 · 8585

Offline WxmJax

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      North of Watford
Not sure which would be closer to actual speed but I was using my Nokia phone GPS sat nav and while that was reading 73mph the car's speedometer was saying 80mph.  Tyres haven't been changed (195/65/15) so can't factor that in.
  • 2013 GD 1.6 110ps man diesel estate.

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
I'm sure Speedo's are set with a + tollerance of circa 10% so yours will be about right.

• 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline CraigB

• Global Moderator

• au Australia
      Perth, WA
There all set to read faster than what you are actually doing to keep you within the limits of the law but your's does appear to be further out than most I've seen "7mph ( 11kph ) difference".

At 100kph ( 62mph ) my vehicle is out about 3 to 4kph ( 2mph )

Offline Just Rick

• V.I.P
  • Big Dogs Rule

• au Australia
      Beverley Western Australia

• miracles can happen
Sounds like You have one of the older FD poverty packs,or new GD active I think they call them,with the stock steel wheels,Cycril when I first bought him he was the same was actually 11kph slow,as it has been said all new cars since the ninties have been made with a safety buffer of up to 10 to 11 percent, but most are around the 5 percent mark
  • 2011 SLX CRDI 6 Spd, 2010 Holden Cruze CD Diesel and 2001 Hyundai Accent Coupe

Offline WxmJax

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      North of Watford
No, it's a 2012 GD 1.6 diesel blue active estate with alloys. Just been out now and it's reading (speedo/sat nav) 30/27, 40/36, 50/45, 60/54. Tyres are set at 32psi.

Now edited as I put the figures the wrong way around, the speedo was always the higher mph figure.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2014, 17:36:19 by WxmJax »
  • 2013 GD 1.6 110ps man diesel estate.