i30 Owners Club

Noisey Air con compressor

Offline ComfortMatt

• 2nd Gear
Any one else have this?  I know they wont be silent, but one of the things i do love about my car is how quiet it is, so many people have asked me if its even running when its on, one guy asked if it was electric  :eek: BUT when the A/C goes on, the whirring and high pitch whine kicks in. It varies with the engine speed, obviously so i know its the ac, turn it off and it is silent again. Air con still works great. I just wondered if it was a model related thing or something to moan about, it has only done 1700 miles so a way off the service yet.

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Mine is manual air con.

It's very quite except when I have the blower on number 4 then it is very very noisy.

1 and 2 you can't hear the blower.

3 you know it is there.

But 4. Well it is very very noisey.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Hi Matt.

Well, supporting Watford and living in London. You deserve a few noisy moments :lol:

Anyway, you have the same model as eye30 so I'm surprised it's noisy, although you have the petrol Comfort; I wonder if that makes any difference...?

Here, no noise whatsoever. The reason for that is... I never use the a/c :D (but on the odd occasion I have done, it was completely silent apart from the fan, which is more of a whooshing sound)
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

ouri30