i30 Owners Club

Coolant Leak

Offline Dirtboy_aus

• 2nd Gear
Hey guys
Just wondering if anyone else has had this problem
basically I'm a mechanic and service our I30 (CRDI) my self at work i did the 22,500km noticed slight green to white dry coolant mark down the back of the block thought it was the water pump gasket weeping so i kept an eye on the overflow bottle to check to see if it was using any. At the 30,000km service had a closer look and we had lost 1/4 inch in the overflow bottle between services when i got it on the hoist at work the green mark had traveled along where the head gasket is on the back of the block check the front side of the block and the mark on there was fresh when the engine cover is removed you can see the coolant mark under the intake manifold so i took it back to where we brought it (use to work where we brought it PD ed it and all) and told the service manager and he said that they don't have coolant leaks and had never heard of it so i booked it in for them to check and got a phone call saying that it had a coolant leak, got told he had to find out what Hyundai wanted to do waited THREE weeks :'( hadn't heard anything when in and seen them and got told that they have to replace the headgasket and that it was to be ordered it that was TWO weeks ago and still waiting :evil:. Not too happy with how long it is taking.

Sorry about the long post, just interested if anyone else has had a coolant leak with theirs.
Cheers Brandon

Offline LuciferDarklord

• 5th Gear

• au Australia
      Bindoon, W.A.

• Bindoon, Western Australia.
does sound weird - but i guess they do have the odd rogue casting or machining that slips thru the cracks.  The amount of time is unacceptable - i'd be asking for a loan car or something as you are still making repayments or losing value on your investment while they gin around.

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue