i30 Owners Club

Whine went transmission is engaged and brake pedal is depressed

Offline murrakami

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Sydney
Hi All,

It is audible when the car is on drive and the brake is engaged to keep the car from creeping.  If I put the car on neutral the whining stops or is barely audible.  The noise is not loud but a bit annoying when all is quiet inside the car.  Is this normal for the petrol GD?

Cheers,
  • hyundai i30 GD Active

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Manual or auto?

How many miles/k's?

If manual i would guess clutch release bearing.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline murrakami

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Sydney

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

It is auto and has done 3,600 kms only.

With that k, i'd be taking it back to the dealer to sort out

Offline Keith

• Top Gear

• england England
      Telford, Shropshire, England.

• Call sign Golf 4 Victor Zulu Kilo
Off topic slightly, but useful for browsers with "whining". I thought I had a wheelbearing going bit it turns out its a tyre issue. Nothing visibly wrong with the tyre but rotating all 4 has fixed it. I picked up the idea from the Kia C'eed guys. Along with Audi owners.... And some VW & Vauxhall guys.... Thought to be something to do with independent rear suspension, but not a fault as such.
  • Now owning a Ford 1.0 Zetec S Fiesta

Offline murrakami

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Sydney
I forgot to mention that if I let go of the brake and let the car creep there is no whine.
  • hyundai i30 GD Active

Offline Stinger

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Munno Para, South Australia
    • My Personal Photography page. Feel free to "like"!
Interesting....