i30 Owners Club

Should traffic lights only flash amber at quiet times?

eye30 · 11 · 3666

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue

Must have missed this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Portsmouth is considering the use of a flashing amber signal on traffic lights during quiet periods, in an effort to aid traffic flow.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-12860433
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Like you said in another thread Lester .. Fraught with danger.. who is to blame in an accident (nice idea if not so many lunatics on the road) :undecided:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline Surferdude

• Global Moderator
  • Tyre Guru

• au Australia
      Caloundra, Queensland.
In my experience that's not an unusual practice, even here in Australia.
The rules are simple - no different to when there is a traffic light malfunction.
All drivers approaching an intersection are responsible for obeying whatever laws apply if the intersection had no lights installed.
  • 2020 Kona formerly 2009 i30 Hatch 5sp Manual.

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

The rules are simple - no different to when there is a traffic light malfunction.
All drivers approaching an intersection are responsible for obeying whatever laws apply if the intersection had no lights installed.

Here in UK it "in my opinion" is utter madness and would cause more problems than it would solve.

Reminds me of this old joke about a taxi that picks up a fare and while driving along he zooms through a red light and keeps going then zooms through the next one and the next one.

By now the passenger is scared almost to death when all of a sudden he slams his brakes and stops at a green light.