Diesel engine idle on cold frosty mornings - yes or no

eye30 · 78 · 26874

Online eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
I've just read an article on another forum that YOU SHOULD NOT let a diesel engine idle to let it warm up on cold frosty mornings so you can use the warm air to clear the front window of frost.
They indicate that due to its construction and the way it works in general, diesel engines takes way longer to warm up compared to an similar petrol engine.  
They also say the diesel engines convert its energy into power rather than into heat, which happens in a petrol engine.

Does anyone have any views?
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Never really gave it much thought to be honest eye.

I let Fergie warm up this morning as it was frosty (3 mins or so), but it took ages to get any heat thru the dash and clear the windscreen.

Diesels work via high compression rather than combustion so I believe, so I expect it will take longer to warm up.
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline TheBunyip

• 3rd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      UK
This subject has also come up in Mazda3 forums. If I recall correctly the same recommendation was made there. DO NOT IDLE when first starting... Apparently in Germany it is against the law to do so. Diesels must drive off as soon as the engine is started. Although no mention was made of anyone in trouble with Officialdom so I cannot guess if German Diesel drivers who IDLE are prosecuted.

On an American web site I found a warning against Idling of Diesels on startup.