i30 Owners Club

Windscreen Washer Nozzle Adjustment + Pump For Rear

Offline DarraghR

• 2nd Gear

• ie Ireland, Republic of
      Co. Dublin
Hi guys. Can anyone tell me how to adjust the front nozzles? I replaced the pump which helped with the pressure but it wont spray anywhere near the middle windscreen.

Also would my i30 have a separate rear pump as now no water is coming from the back and was quite weak before anyway.

• Hyundai i30 1.4 2010

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Can't adjust

The tubes may be slightly blocked so try blowing thro to remove any sludge.

Open bonnet and trace the tube you will find a joiner.

Open hatch and you will find joiner.

Split and using pump blow air thro or if you can have try water till it flows clear.

Did you clean out the tank when fitting new pump?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2020, 22:19:13 by eye30 »
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline BrendanP

• Technical Advisor

• gb United Kingdom
      East Midlands
When the rear washer on my 2011 diesel stopped working, I found this was due to an inline non-return valve that is fitted under the headlining at the rear of the car. At least, I think it's a non-return valve as it contained a spring and a tiny piston. Anyhow, I took the spring and piston out so it was now just an inline coupler, pushed the ends of the tubes back onto it and it has worked fine ever since.

If you try and clear a blockage in the washer fluid tube to the rear with compressed air, and this valve is blocking the flow, you run the risk of blowing the tube off. Then, when you try the rear washer, it will be squirting water into the roof lining.
  • i30 CRD

Offline DarraghR

• 2nd Gear

Co. Dublin
I didnt clean out the tank when fitting the pump. Does that involve removing the whole water tank?

Water seems to be coming out fine with nozzles off.