i30 Owners Club

2009 1.6 CRDi turbo boosting at idle

Offline rcflyers

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      UK
When I slow down and stop after driving the car I can hear the turbo spool down but at idle you can still hear it slightly.

According to my OBD reader it seems to be providing 2-3 kPa (0.3-0.4 psi) of boost at idle.

Is this normal?

Does anyone else s car do this?
  • Getz i30

Offline Asterix

• V.I.P
  • i40 CRDi 100kW 2013

• dk Denmark
      Sdr. Omme - DK
The turbo spool down is very easy heard on mine as well, has been since I bought it second hand @126000 km, now done 215000 km, no change in sound. I'm not worried....

Don't know about the idle boost.

• i40 CRDi 100 kW 2013

Offline Just Rick

• V.I.P
  • Big Dogs Rule

• au Australia
      Beverley Western Australia

• miracles can happen
like asterix,one of mine you can well and truly hear the spool down,never really thought about trying to listen for it at idle,but not being a turbo expert I would say that some small amount of boost at idle would be normal,to have no boost you would have to have the turbo not spinning,so I would say it is normal
  • 2011 SLX CRDI 6 Spd, 2010 Holden Cruze CD Diesel and 2001 Hyundai Accent Coupe

Offline Lorian

• V.I.P

• gb United Kingdom
      Midlands

• Midlands, UK N-Line T-GDi
I can't hear mine at idle, but then I never really stopped to listen.

What it'll be showing as boost will actually be the difference between the currently (reasonably high) atmospheric air pressure and the default air pressure reading built in, which will be lower. There is no sensor in the car for atmospheric air pressure so it has to use some default value for the calculation.

Offline rcflyers

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      UK
I can't hear mine at idle, but then I never really stopped to listen.