Window screen scratches

eye30 · 10 · 4021

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Today I noticed fine scratches in the glass on the front windowscreen.  The only reason I noticed was due to a low sun.

They have only appeared recently and I'm guessing that this is due to the grit etc put on our roads during the recent snow period being thrown up by vehicles in front.

It looks as if small bits of grit etc have dried on the screen and when I've done a swipe with the wipers any small bits have been drawn across the glass by the rubber blade.

Now this can not be unique to UK as in warmer climates dirt etc must be on the screen.

As I don't wish to replace the front screen, so does anyone have any suggestions as to how these scratches can be removed or masked?
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Jewellers Rouge (Cerium Oxide) but you'll have to do the whole windscreen as the "fixed" parts will look shinier than the older non-scratched parts.

Plenty on eBay
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline Lorian

• V.I.P

• gb United Kingdom
      Midlands

• Midlands, UK N-Line T-GDi
My old car had them bad (it was old). I just lived with them. I think cleaning the blades frequently helped to keep the scoring to a minimum.

Offline Lorian

• V.I.P

• gb United Kingdom
      Midlands

Jewellers Rouge (Cerium Oxide) but you'll have to do the whole windscreen as the "fixed" parts will look shinier than the older non-scratched parts.

Plenty on eBay

Interesting. What is the process to apply it, presumably it's a regular type of polishing process? Could it be used on a polishing pad with a dremel for example?

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club