Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Who is google[bot]????
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline 30L6805

• 2nd Gear

• vn Viet Nam
      Hanoi
is a web spider (bot) that runs thru every page when a related search is done. I also run a phpbb3 forum and i shut off this and other related bot... :)

Offline encountar

• 3rd Gear

• au Australia
      Penrith
copied and pasted from the below link

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Googlebot

A Googlebot is a search bot used by Google. It collects documents from the web to build a searchable index for the Google search engine.

If a webmaster wishes to restrict the information on their site available to a Googlebot, or another well-behaved spider, they can do so with the appropriate directives in a robots.txt file,[1] or by adding the meta tag <meta name="Googlebot" content="noindex"> to the webpage. [2] Googlebot requests to Web servers are discernible from their user-agent string 'Googlebot'.

Googlebot has two versions, deepbot and freshbot. Deepbot, the deep crawler, tries to follow every link on the web and download as many pages as it can to the Google indexers. It completes this process about once a month. Freshbot crawls the web looking for fresh content. It visits websites that change frequently, according to how frequently they change. Currently Googlebot only follows HREF links and SRC links. [3]

Googlebot discovers pages by harvesting all of the links on every page it finds. It then follows these links to other web pages. New web pages must be linked to from another known page on the web in order to be crawled and indexed.