i30 Owners Club

I30 handbrake issue.

Offline SafetyChes

• 2nd Gear

• wales Wales
      Pontypridd, South Wales UK
Hello fellow owners. I’m after some advice. I’ve just got my auto i30 diesel back from MOT and it’s failed. Parking brake imbalance. Driver side wheel still turns when when hand brake is applied. Passenger side if fine. It takes 6 clicks for the handbrake to “engage” as I tightened it before it went for MOT. Will tightening then Handbrake more solve the problem or will replacing the cable Solve it or any other suggestions? Please help.
  • i30 Diesel, Auto CRDi

Online eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
From memory think you have to do each side individually.

Or

As again from memory, parking pads/shoes are not the braking pads so one may not be operating correctly.

A more experienced owner may have additional info.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline SafetyChes

• 2nd Gear

• wales Wales
Thanks, i've read a few posts from a google search that mention parking brake shoes. my issue is the handbrake cable goes to the caliper and not the drum so I don't think i have shoes. when i replaced the caliper last year i had to make sure I brought a caliper "with electronic parking brake". Goggle really is no help here haha.
  • i30 Diesel, Auto CRDi

Online BrendanP

• Technical Advisor

• gb United Kingdom
      East Midlands
I'm confused. What year is your car? If you have a conventional handbrake lever that you say you adjusted to put the brake on at 6 clicks, that sounds like a mechanical handbrake, not an electronic one. You've said the cable goes to the caliper, is this a steel wire cable or an electrical cable?
  • i30 CRD

Offline SafetyChes

• 2nd Gear

• wales Wales
62 plate