Weird noise on startup :(

panda · 120 · 45809

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Thanks for the update and be interested to know how it sounds once the new cover is fitted.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline joesama

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Melbourne
Ok..
Just got the car back.
I have inquired further as what exactly was the problem.
Here is the picture what has been replaced.
The highlighted in red is apparently called Timing cover oil pump. (The huge silver bit that's attached right next to the engine)
It apparently involves removing a lot of things to get it replaced. Hence it took from 9am to 4pm.

I've also attached the invoice for the job.. There also seems to have TSB for the Navi Audio unit.

Like wise, I haven't heard the noise yet and I suspect I wont any more.
Ill test it out tomorrow morning and see what happens.. But its to do with the clearance on oil pump.

joe....
  • Merc E200, Merc C250 CGI Avantgard, Hyundai i30 Elite Hatch

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
^--- thanks for the comprehensive update, with pics :goodjob:

Wish my i30 had a STANAV - it sounds useful :lol:
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline crayman

• 3rd Gear

• au Australia
      Gympie
Are both auto and manuals making this noise or not?
The Mrs manual I-30 made this noise on initial startup for around 30,000k's, seems to be less frequent now it's up to 45,000.
Nothing to do with ABS, it sounds like a throw out bearing or alternator clutch, something on that end of the engine.