i30 Owners Club

Turbo failures

hody166 · 19 · 7115

Offline hody166

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      Hobart
Hi, allow me to start by saying that I am not a mechanic, and what I write here is a summary of what has occurred with my diesel turbo.   We purchased the car 'new' back in about Oct 2009.   At 68,000 km we had a continual 'whistle' from the motor at any and all speeds, along with a 'strange' (not sulphur) smell from the exhaust.   This noise had been going on for at least the previous 10,000 km.   Our mechanic felt that it was turbo bearings, and as the car was still under warranty, we took it back to the dealer who investigated and agreed.   I was advised by the dealer that they had replaced the turbo, this was done at 68,000 km?   Now the car has 101,000 km and the 'whistle' noise has again started, about 10,000 km ago - not so loud, but getting louder.   The car is now out of warranty.   My mechanic thinks it is the turbo again.   We took the car back to the dealer who agrees that it is again the turbo - possibly bearings.   The dealer commented on our 'impeccable' service history.   The dealer has sought support from Hyundai, but they have stated that as it is no longer under warranty, it is therefore not a warranty issue; and the best they have offered is a replacement turbo at $1,100 (special discount price) plus labour costs.

My concern is, that it seems the original underlying cause for the first turbo failing at 68,000 km was never fully investigated or fixed (fault/cause analysis) whilst under warranty, and it would seem that this has now lead to the second turbo failing just 30,000 km later.   Two turbos in 100,000 kms.   Bloody poor in my opinion.   I doubt Lowndes replaces turbos this frequently  :)