i30 Owners Club

Tyre pressure valve and sensor

Offline clicheuk

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      UK

• I30 1.6 CRDI Premium
Another issue I have found not covered by the warranty is the Tyre pressure valve.
It shows all the characteristics of corrosion and has broken away from the mid way point of the tyre valve, but the dealer isn’t having any of it and is saying it was “snapped off” and that it will cost about £90.00 for the part and to re-programme the sensor to the car.
 I’m no metal expert, so see what you guys think but if I have snapped the valve, would it not be straight?  …

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Hi clicheuk..

Don't think these are an option in Oz but some of our UK members and Hemmi in Iceland have them (and there has been some issues) hopefully their feedback can help you..

Please allow several days for replies (not everyone visits daily)
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Well in my mind the metal looks to have become brittle and broken at a weak point - definitelty hasn't snapped otherwise as you said it would be a straight break across a horizontal line.

Just trying to think what I would do in this circumstance....

As your dealership has already said they're having none of it you won't get them to change their mind. I think I'd probably fork out the £90. Can't see you getting anywhere, although it does look corroded...

Is your TPMS system reporting low pressure now? Maybe worth paying to sort that safety issue out
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline clicheuk

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      UK

• I30 1.6 CRDI Premium