i30 Owners Club

Coolant level slowly dropping

Bajirao · 12 · 9439

Offline Bajirao

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      VIC
Hi There,

I am very new to this wonderful forum and wanted to get inputs on a coolant problem (or feature?) on my i30 Petrol.

The coolant level is steadily dropping and reached almost 'L' mark so took my i30 to dealership. They 'pressure tested' the coolant circuit and found no leaks, topped up the coolant free of charge. But to my surprise the coolant level is at almost 1/2 mark when cold (before starting the engine) the very next day.

I went thru some of the posts about similar topics here and over the web and am bit concerned if this is connected to bad head gasket or coolant getting mixed with oil etc.

Does anyone here have similar problems especially with petrol i30 (OZ version, made in Korea)? Please let me know.

Thanks in advance,

Offline Lorian

• V.I.P

• gb United Kingdom
      Midlands

• Midlands, UK N-Line T-GDi
Is there white smoke from the exhaust when the engine is fully up to temperature?

If you look in the oil filler is there any sign of white or throthing inside?

I presume you are aware you should always check the level when the water is cold? If they topped it up to the correct level when the engine is up to temperature then it's going to be low then next day when the water is cold.

I believe .au/Korean cars are generally supplied to the dealers with low water, and the dealer is supposed to top up as part of PDI. Not sure how old you car is though.

Offline Duckman

• 3rd Gear

• au Australia
      Sydney
I have noticed mine drop to just above low before, and taken note. A day or so later I checked gain to see if it was an issue I needed to deal with, and it was above half way... Both times were on cold engine temps. Maybe it's a certain amount through the system?

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net