i30 Owners Club

Washing/cleaning the engine?

Offline stochastic

• 3rd Gear

• ca Canada
      Vancouver

• talks out loud sometimes
    • My Personal Website
I recently took my i30 on a camping trip where it faces 200km of gravel roads in the rain.  Now my engine has spatters of mud all over (even on the underside of the bonnet).  I'm taking it to the dealership to get a it looked at as it now shakes when in reverse, but I think I should clean the engine first.  Is it safe to just spray it down with a hose?  How would you clean the engine?
  • Elantra Touring GL

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
  Is it safe to just spray it down with a hose?  How would you clean the engine?

I, personally, wouldn't hose down with water.

It would be best if you take it to be steam cleaned?
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
I have cleaned engine bays with a hose many times but I am careful how I do it not spaying any electrical parts like alternator, etc too aggressively  :cool:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline Surferdude

• Global Moderator
  • Tyre Guru

• au Australia
      Caloundra, Queensland.
A Gerni high pressure cleaner gives you better control IMO. But like Dazz I have no problem cleaning with a hose.
  • 2020 Kona formerly 2009 i30 Hatch 5sp Manual.

Offline kabukiman

• 3rd Gear
  • apricot herder

• au Australia
      Melbourne, Victoria
Never ever hose your engine down.

People say it's alright, I see little workshops do it sometimes and detailers at some car yards will do it.