i30 Owners Club

fuel capacity of 2010 i30 hatchback diesel and other queries

hugh · 30 · 14331

Offline hugh

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      Queensland
Recently I purchased a 2010, i30 diesel, hatchback.  I want to know the capacity of the fuel tank.  I put in 56 litres yesterday after doing 812 klms around town.  Someone told me that the actual fuel capacity of the i30 tank is only 53 litres, so how come I can add that much.  do i lose fuel by filling it up so full?  i could not see any fuel spilling out.  I am new to this post and i have no idea if I have doubled up with this post.  I pressed "enter" and all my typing disappeared.  I have also heard that the i30 is very hard on tyres, so what klm can I expect, it is mostly around town driving.  What is the best brand of tyres to get.  Next is bluetooth for my mobile phone.  what is the best bluetooth connection to install given that my car does not have bluetooth? someone said Parrot was good, is that true?
  • i30 2010 1.6 diesel hatcback automatic

Offline Eureka

• 4th Gear

• au Australia
      Melbourne
Hello.  The fuel tank capacity of my 2007 CRDi manual is listed as 53 litres, but I have put 57 litres into it on at least one occasion; and I don't know how much was still in there before I put the 57 in.  I think others have put in more than that. 

The fuel capacity must be around 60 litres if you really fill it right to the top.

I have almost 83,000 ks on my car, with the original tyres still on it. 

Someone else will have to tell you about bluetooth.
  • SX crdi manual 2007

Offline beerman

• V.I.P

• au Australia
G'day mate and welcome.

The filler hose on the I30 is quite long, you will get at least 7l extra in there if you brim it (I think from memory someone has done 61 or 63).

Tyre wear is fine. The debate will rage about rotating. I got 60,000 from my first set. Best tyre, go to the tyre section for a few opinions..