Fast and slow lanes for pedestrians

eye30 · 16 · 3410

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Pedestrians in part of the US are being told to get in lane - depending on if they're using mobile phones or not.

The signs have been stencilled on to a short stretch of pavement and offer walkers a choice.

"No cellphones," says lettering on one side. "Cellphones," says the other lane. "Walk at your own risk."

:link: Fast and slow lanes for pedestrians - BT
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Well, I've seen everything now :rolleyes:
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline FatBoy

• V.I.P

• au Australia
      Cygnet, Tasmania

Offline The Gonz

• Admin
  • Afghanistan Vet

• au Australia
      Adelaide

• Callsign GUNZ
 :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: What? No bacon? :lol:
  • Frugal Firty: FDSLXCRDi5spHyperSilverBodyKit+Mods & MrsG'sPDSRPrem

Offline FatBoy

• V.I.P

• au Australia
      Cygnet, Tasmania
The problem with lanes like these is that they don't account for the lowest common denominator when planning.  Most pedestrians will do the right thing and walk in the correct lane, making the "traffic" flow well.  However, when I was cycling to work in Melbourne there was a section near Docklands in the city that had very wide paths.  It was divided into pedestrians only and cycle only areas.  The amount of people that would walk in the cycle only lane was amazing (I am talking about 20 people per 500m).  They would then get surprised when a cyclist would ring their bell as a warning to get out of the way.  I even had a pedestrian abuse me when I rang my bell, until another pedestrian pointed out that they were walking on a cycle path.

Offline BC

• 3rd Gear

• au Australia
      Melbourne

• Melbourne, Australia