i30 Owners Club

Change gearbox oil pre-delivery?

Raid · 8 · 2706

Offline Raid

• 4th Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      London

• Nobody is perfect.
Hi guys I'm planning of buying i30 1.4 active and its done 20,000 miles should I ask them to check the gearbox fluid and shall I get them to change it before I take it plz and would they normally change that fluid when they do servicing plz?. Where
Thanks
  • I30 active 1.4 petrol 2013

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Is it from hy dealer?

Previous owner?
As lot have been hire cars and they seem to get rid circa 15/20k

How old is it?

Has it been serviced per service/ warranty requirements as my service is 20k or 2years but they are due interim if less than 10k in 12 months?

Has service book been stamped?

Usually dealers will do a service as part of the sale deal.

• 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Asterix

• V.I.P
  • i40 CRDi 100kW 2013

• dk Denmark
      Sdr. Omme - DK
If it's a manual gearbox then there's no oil change scheduled, unless used for towing caravans and/or lots of mountain driving. Recomended in these circumstances are oilchange at 60.000 miles/100.000 km.

With only 20000 miles on the odo I wouldn't care about the gear oil at all...  :mrgreen:
« Last Edit: July 27, 2015, 17:47:22 by Asterix »
  • i40 CRDi 100 kW 2013

Offline Raid

• 4th Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      London

• Nobody is perfect.
It's from hy  dealer and I will get all the info about the service tomorrow I haven't seen the service book but been told the service its done and maybe they will do the service before they give it to me. So is there anything that I would have to check plz.

One more thing there is a couple of scratchs on the car and they told me that everything will be sorted and painted off so I'm hoping they won't do touch up and will actually paint it properly

Offline Dazzler

• Admin