i30 Owners Club

Multiple problems i30 CRD 2011 only 25,000 miles

Offline Barry1946

• 1st Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Ipswich
Purchased the vehicle December 2011, Reg March. 2011 ex dealer vehicle.in warranty 2 replacement dash info modules so that's 3 including the original,replacement radio/CD player.All wheels exchanged due to lacquer failure.
Now out of warranty the drivers door actuator does not allow me to open the door from inside the vehicle dealer quoted £340 + £89 labour .Awaiting delivery of a unit from an Internet breaker £40+vat +£10 delivery. Thinking of dumping it for another manufacturer what which I haven't a clue.
  • I30 1-6 CRD

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Welcome

Sorry to hear of your problems.

Re door.

Do you mean the button you press to release all doors or when you use the drivers door handle?

• 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Barry1946

• 1st Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Ipswich
Not
the button, the interior door handle when you pull the handle you can feel it's not making a connection. The central locking works ok so to get out of the car one has to power down the window open it from out side
« Last Edit: June 25, 2016, 21:14:29 by Barry1946 »
  • I30 1-6 CRD

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Welcome Barry. You have been unlucky with the module and Wheels. Neither is what I would call a common fault. Actuator failure is a  bit more common than it should be, but sourcing one as you have done and either fitting it yourself or getting it fitted by other than the dealer you can save quite a bit.

If you think Hyundai is bad, try a Ford or holden or VW.. Some of their models will make your problems seem fairly insignificant.... :whistler:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)