Middle lane hoggers - uk

eye30 · 26 · 5001

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue

One in three motorists admit they hog the middle lane on motorways - but just 135 fines have been issued

A third of drivers admit they don't move over to lane one when it's clear

Some 37% said they didn't know they could be fined £100 if caught hogging the middle lane

Half of the drivers quizzed believed the action was 'selfish' and that it caused congestion when other motorists do it

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/cars/article-3792498/Just-135-fines-issued-middle-lane-hogging.html
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline rustynutz

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      South Gippsland
I nearly always drive in the middle lane on our motorways....Makes sense too, I reckon.
Keeping out of the left lane keeps it clearer for those exiting and entering the motorway.
If drivers need to overtake they can use the right lane.

Oh, and driving in the middle lane is not illegal here in Australia...  :goodjob:

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
The problem in the UK is that it is illegal to "undertake" - that is to use the 1st lane to overtake someone in the middle lane.  Thus the only lane available for safe and legal overtaking is the third lane on a 3 lane motorway

Hence stupid middle lane huggers reduce traffic flow by halving the number of lanes available for overtaking.
  • 2021 KIA Niro3 1.6 petrol Hybrid

Offline rustynutz

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      South Gippsland
Thankfully we have no undertaking law here!  :goodjob:

Perhaps the UK needs to follow our lead!  :whistler:   :lol:

Offline xiziz

• V.I.P

• se Sweden
      Varmland, Sweden