i30 Owners Club

Essential service programme

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
My car is due its annual service in August.

Since it passed its 5th year I've used the UK Hyundai Essential service programme as it provides stamp in book plus 12 months full breakdown and recovery service.

However, when making enquiries this week I was told the 3 service levels have ceased and they now just offer 2 levels, 1 at £129 which was the previous basic at £99, and other at £219, combination of the other 2.

I've googled etc and can't find any info from Hyundai direct.

Is anyone in the UK aware of this change or able to provide upto date link?

Cheers.... and thanks in advance....
« Last Edit: June 14, 2024, 21:37:28 by eye30 »
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline BrendanP

• Technical Advisor

• gb United Kingdom
      East Midlands
The link below shows what my local Hyundai dealer does for the 2 levels of service. It's less that what the old essentials service did, because when I previously paid £219 it included changing the fuel filter and the coolant.

:link: Hyundai Fixed Price Servicing | Leicester | Sturgess Hyundai
  • i30 CRD

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

Cheers BrendanP.

See it also excludes spark plugs.....

So a £30 increase on the basic one.

Going for the £129 as the cost of buying direct from the breakdown, home start and recovery, told it is AA, is circa £200.

Offline BrendanP

• Technical Advisor

• gb United Kingdom
      East Midlands
I use rescuemycar.com for breakdown recovery. My partner just renewed hers for about £33/year, includes breakdown assistance, national recovery and homestart. That's for a 2015 i30 CRDi. That covers the car for any driver, or you can get a personal policy that covers you for driving any car. No excess.