Hyundai, Kia to pay owners for inflated mileage

eye30 · 16 · 4862

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
South Korean automakers Hyundai and Kia said Friday they will reimburse car owners in the United States and Canada for having exaggerated the fuel efficiency of their vehicles.

The announcement came after the US Environmental Protection Agency said it had discovered inflated gasoline economy numbers on a wide range of Hyundai and Kia models in an investigation sparked by consumer complaints.

After first testing a Hyundai Elantra and finding a discrepancy, the EPA expanded the tests to more models from both manufacturers.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific_business/view/1235008/1/.html
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
 :Shocked: Wow, that is a revelation with ongoing ramifications for Hyundai, Kia and other manufacturers. (and what an administrative nightmare)  :disapp: open to rorting  :confused:

Will it stretch to other markets? I suspect figures for some other brands as well!  :undecided:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline constipated

• 4th Gear

• au Australia
      Sydney
Given the Elantra is involved, I wonder if the same is true here. Could be that the government does it's own testing here in Australia so not applicable.
  • MY11 - SLX CRDi 6 speed manual

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Thanks Rich, there is another thread about this matter posted a bit earlier (we may have to roll them together)  :undecided:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline constipated

• 4th Gear

• au Australia
      Sydney