UK - Private Cars Cannot Be Sold With Road Tax From October 2014

eye30 · 72 · 14632

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Motorists that sell cars privately will not be entitled to offer the “unexpired tax” incentive from October 2014, the Automobile Association has revealed. Sellers will have to claim vehicle excise duty refunds for any remaining months from the Driver Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA). Buyers will then have to pay road tax online, at post offices or via telephone before taking to the road.

http://www.motoring.co.uk/car-news/private-cars-cannot-be-sold-with-road-tax-from-october-2014_60347?utm_source=motoring.co.uk&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=newsletter&src=motoring
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Keith

• Top Gear

• england England
      Telford, Shropshire, England.

• Call sign Golf 4 Victor Zulu Kilo
Bloody stupid... Makes selling a car privately just a it harder...
  • Now owning a Ford 1.0 Zetec S Fiesta

Offline beerman

• V.I.P

• au Australia
Makes the Government a heap of 'cancellation' and new registration fees though.....
  • A woman drove me to drink and I didn't even have the decency to thank her..

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

With the increase in anpr cameras they will have a field day catching those who buy a car and decide to take a chance driving it home without tax.

Picture taken, fine sent via post.......

With insurance you can at least arrange in advance but not it appear for road tax

Offline Lester

• 5th Gear

• au Australia
      Batemans Bay, NSW
Sounds complicated to me, how much is the UK Road Tax then?

We pay Annual Registration and 3rd party insurance (for injury claims) plus comprehensive damage insurance is optional. :wacko: