Pitted brake discs

eye30 · 18 · 8624

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Only noticed today that both rear brake discs are slightly marked with loads of small black spot marks.

Front discs are also marked but not to the same extent.

When I ran my finger over the disc they felt smooth, no indentations.

The discs are bright silver, not rusty colour, so the brake pads are making contact when depressing foot brake.

Any ideas what may be causing this??
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline bumpkin

• V.I.P
  • Keeping it in the family!

• scotland Scotland
      Aberdeen
I have spent a bit of time thinking about this one for you eye and have come up with the following guesstimation :razz:

Everything is porous, even items which we think are completely solid have spaces between the molecules which make up their construction.

Now the next thing is that temperature makes things expand and contract so when you are driving and braking the discs are hot and expanded slightly and then they contract when cool.
We have all seen that horrible brake pad dust on our alloys, so what I suspect you have is small portions of dust going into the disc and then being compressed into small circles when the disc cools.

The reason it is more apparent at the rear than the front is probably due to the brake bias being more to the front, the braking is firmer which causes the expulsion of the dust onto the front wheels which does not happen to the same extent at the back, brake dust is a bigger problem on front alloys than the back ones.

I have not checked mine to see if it is the same and I guess no-one else has either since I am the only response.
Only a theory, open to debate and question.....................

Cheers
Brian
  • Kia Sportage 3, 1.7 CRDi EcoDynamics

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia