i30 Owners Club

Is my Petrol MPG normal in the UK

Offline New-Owner1

• 2nd Gear

• 2009 I30 Comfort 1.4
Hi I have the I30 Petrol comfort 1.4, I get according to the tirpometer 36.0mpg and on the motorway 36.2, I dont drive the car hard I am a careful driver e.g 60 on the motorway, no sharp braking etc, can you let me know what kind of mpg you get, but please similar spec only no diesels. thanks

Offline Myowni30

• 5th Gear

• Midlands, UK
I'm on my second 1.4 i30 and that sounds about right with mixed driving. You really do need to take it easy to get into the 40+ mpg. eg drive at 40-50 for long distances with very light throttle  :lol:

Offline highandnotdry

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Portsmouth
I have done about 5000 miles in a 1.4 comfort and am mostly getting around 41 mpg. Most driving is stop/start 5 miles to and from work in traffic but also one long road trip at 70 to 80 mph through Europe.

i found economy improved after the long trip through Europe and I got past the first 1000 miles. I do move through the gears quickly ( I'm in 5th by the time I am doing 35 mph).

Offline diablo

• 5th Gear

• england England
      Blackpool

• Fylde Coast England 1.4 petrol Comfort
Hi I have the I30 Petrol comfort 1.4, I get according to the tirpometer 36.0mpg and on the motorway 36.2, I dont drive the car hard I am a careful driver e.g 60 on the motorway, no sharp braking etc, can you let me know what kind of mpg you get, but please similar spec only no diesels. thanks

How often do you reset the mpg counter, as in holding the button in for ten seconds until it reads zero ?

I suspect that you haven't done that yet with the figures you give. I tend to get 31 mpg on very short trips of around one mile, on country roads it goes up to 48 and around 45 on the motorway at 75. Though if you do 100+ it goes down below 30 again.  :eek: Though I don't do 100+ very often (only when drunk  :lol:)

Offline Keith

• Top Gear

• england England