i30 Owners Club

Intermittent won't start: Fuel pump and/or wiring

daisy · 12 · 15363

Offline daisy

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      Brisbane

• Red SLX 2.0 pet Auto. Jan 09 from Moorooka Hyundai
My question: Does anyone know if the immobiliser system cuts power to the fuel pump?

My story...
SAT 18APR09: Car won’t start.
SUN 19APR09: RACQ identified fuel pump failure.  RACQ man broke a relay levering it out with a screwdriver (same type as other relays, so we could swap them around; I wiggled them out with slightly more patience!).  Towed to Metro Hyundai, Windsor (Brisbane) - tow truck was taking my car while a Police Random Breath Test was going on right behind my car; it must have looked like my baby was being impounded cause I'm a drunk driver!  Had to leave car in the back street, because they were closed.
MON 20APR09: They agree: fuel pump ordered. Not available until Wednesday (on collection found out they have only been doing Hyundai for 3 weeks at this place).
WED 22APR09:  Fuel pump arrives. Fitted.  Collected car.  The mechanic said it wouldn't start when they first went to it, but after towing it to the workshop it started fine - intermittent fault!  I don't know whether they confirmed the fuel pump was the intermittent fault, or they just assumed based on the RACQ information I passed on.  I will be asking tomorrow, since the intermittent fault is probably not the fuel pump since...
FRI 24APR09: Car won’t start - again; same symptoms.  Stuck at home.  Let's get stuck into it...
SUN 26APR09: Approx 11Volts is present on the electrical connector which brings 12Volts to the fuel pump, but it is loaded down to zero when connected to the fuel pump (I disconnected the electrical connector, but jumpered the 12VDC from the wiring harness connector to the fuel pump electrical socket with a voltmeter monitoring).