The importance of tyres

eye30 · 72 · 12419

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Whether you are an automotive enthusiast or someone who simply sees their car as a domestic appliance, raising the subject of tyres is almost guaranteed to result in rolling of the eyes.

The importance of tyres - BT
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
A simple but well written article. I didn't learn anything, but a timely reminder! :goodjob:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline beerman

• V.I.P

• au Australia
How much has modern technology reduced the role of tyres in car safety, between ABS traction and stability control, it would seem some of the driver issues that better tyres used to reduce, are now taken care of by the computer in a second.

I remember back in the day, when it was wet, you would get a reminder from the rear (in the old Falcon) if the tyres were getting a bit old, same with the old Laser and FWD there would be wheel spin to remind you that the tyres were getting old. Now good old traction control steps in to take care of that issue.....
  • A woman drove me to drink and I didn't even have the decency to thank her..

Offline Surferdude

• Global Moderator
  • Tyre Guru

• au Australia
      Caloundra, Queensland.
How much has modern technology reduced the role of tyres in car safety, between ABS traction and stability control, it would seem some of the driver issues that better tyres used to reduce, are now taken care of by the computer in a second.