My First Visit to America - A true Story

AlanHo · 8 · 1375

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
When I was 27 years old, I was a senior engineer at an aluminium rolling mill in Birmingham which had been taken over by Kaiser Aluminium of the USA. They were to invest 20 million pounds in a major upgrade of the factory equipment – the equivalent of about £350 million today. This was to include a hot rolling mill able to make huge plates up to 12 ft wide x 10 inches thick x 30 feet long of aircraft grade aluminium alloy for the airliners and various military aircraft of the day. In those days the wings and other highly stressed parts were machined from solid plates of metal to allow complex shapes and avoid the metal fatigue problems that had beset the De Havilland Comet.

A team of 11 young engineering, metallurgy and production managers were chosen, which included me (engineer), to spend a few months in the USA working in 6 Kaiser factories for 2 or 3 weeks at each plant to familiarise ourselves with the Kaiser working and technical practices. We spent time in Washington State, California, Texas, West Virginia, S. Carolina and New York, in that order.

Especially in the Southern States, English people were such a rare sight that Kaiser colleagues wanted us to spend evenings and week-ends at their homes to be shown off to their families. I never refused an invitation. I still have great memories of that time.