Alternator question?

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
So do you still have the flat battery?

If so charge up and put in boot just in case.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline asathorny

• V.I.P
  • Wonky Donkey

• england England
      Manchester City centre

• Curmudgeon
I do Lester, but, I have now been out to the shops this morning and voila, everything is hunky dory no light in the binical except the one which are supposed to be there..

However your point is well made, if it happens again, what then.

I inquired with my breakdown service and they want £91 to put me on HOME START  :Shocked:

I went shopping on AMAZON and an engine starter is on the way as we speak 'Streetwize SWPP1 Portable Power Pack with Air Compressor', which well do the same job as my recovery bloke would do i.e. jump start the car.  Oh and please, please, no shroud waving.  The RAC would do exactly the same thing  :mrgreen:.  It's cost me £79 for a new battery and £55'ish for the engine starter making a grand total of (hang on whilst I get me smart phone out) £134 <phew> thank God for smartphones  :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Offline marti30

• 3rd Gear
My alternator was replaced under warranty. The story is told in the 'Diesel Problems and Issues' section under 'Alternator making a whining noise'. The car was over 3 years old, had covered more than 100,000 miles, been serviced at stretched intervals and had never been back to a main dealer.

Offline asathorny

• V.I.P
  • Wonky Donkey

• england England
      Manchester City centre

• Curmudgeon
My alternator was replaced under warranty. The story is told in the 'Diesel Problems and Issues' section under 'Alternator making a whining noise'. The car was over 3 years old, had covered more than 100,000 miles, been serviced at stretched intervals and had never been back to a main dealer.