GD rear brake piston push back

eye30 · 10 · 3040

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Just replaced the rear handbrake shoes, pads and discs on sons FD.

The rear piston just pushed back in by pushing the old pads against the piston.

On my GD the handbrake set up looks different as there is no brake shoe as it looks like the handbrake operates the pads.

Is this correct?

While in the motor factors the chap said he thought the GD piston has to be wound back and you need a tool to do it.

Is that correct?

If so, do you need to use a tool or is it possible to do this without. 
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline josh1990

• 3rd Gear

• au Australia
      NSW
GD is definitely a wind back. You can get the tool kit from SCA (which is no good for anyone out of Aus  :evil:) for about $85, or you can get pointy pliers and do it manually. Of course the tool makes it poss easy but I managed the wind back pistons on the MIL corolla with pointy pliers just took longer. Yes handbrake is main pads. Don't try and adjust at the pad, they will drag. The handbrake adjustment is under the main compartment in centre console.

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

Thanks for the info.

Not yet ready to replace pads as still got alot on but useful to know when I need to replace.

Offline BrendanP

• Technical Advisor

• gb United Kingdom
      East Midlands
I've done this on my own car, the pistons do have to be rotated clockwise. I have a caliper rewind kit, but it was quite easy to push back so I could have probably done it with some long-nose pliers. Make sure that you leave the piston so the notches are at the 12 o'clock & 6 o'clock positions, then the notch will engage with the pip on the back of the brake pad.

• i30 CRD

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

Cheers.