Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Caught this on the lunchtime news

=================

A New Zealand pilot has escaped without serious injury after an accident where his helicopter's blades appeared to get caught in cables attached to scaffolding.

The helicopter was being used to help install a Christmas tree on the waterfront in Auckland when the incident happened.

Footage shows the rear end of the craft snapping off and the pilot being thrown about as the wreckage hits the ground.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-15848886
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline asathorny

• V.I.P
  • Wonky Donkey

• england England
      Manchester City centre

• Curmudgeon
Is this what is euphamistically called pilot error???  Are they supposed to fly so near to overhead cables and such, if so, it doesn't insprire me with confidence.

I am very glad that no-one died and that the pilot walked away from it.

:Shocked: :Shocked: :Shocked: :Shocked:

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Wow that was spectacular.. That tail seemed very flimsy  :Shocked:  The pilot and the people near the accident were lucky to survive... Makes it a very expensive Christmas tree now :whistler:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
They interviewed the pilot on TV tonight.  He had a bit of a mark on his head...

Apparently they practiced crashing the day before  :whistler:

Sorry if anyone thinks that comment was in poor taste (if so read AlanHo's signature... :P)
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline Phil №❶

• Top Gear
  • Loco, most of the time!

• au Australia