Email and web use 'to be monitored' under new laws

eye30 · 22 · 4745

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
The government will be able to monitor the calls, emails, texts and website visits of everyone in the UK under new legislation set to be announced soon.

Internet firms will be required to give intelligence agency GCHQ access to communications on demand, in real time.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-17576745

So will this create more users for our site?
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
I'm all for it. I don't post or Email anything I would worry about the authorities seeing.

Crooks, fraudsters, perverts and terrorists might not hold the same views though.
  • 2021 KIA Niro3 1.6 petrol Hybrid

Offline succulant

• 4th Gear
  • Never buy a Citroën

• scotland Scotland
      Lanarkshire
I'm all for it. I don't post or Email anything I would worry about the authorities seeing.

Crooks, fraudsters, perverts and terrorists might not hold the same views though.
Its all fine and good to say you have nothing to hide but how big a leap is it from this to a government introducing censorship when it doesn't agree with you viewing habitats.
At any rate I think its unworkable because to the sheer volume of data it would create. 
  • Comfort CRDI (115), Suzuki Ignis Sport, Rover Mini 30

Offline Phil №❶

• Top Gear
  • Loco, most of the time!

• au Australia
      Mos Eisley, South Australia
Well, I don't like that idea too much at all.

I accept Alan's viewpoint though. If you're not into anything illegal then it isn't a problem. The same theory applies to speed cameras, radar etc. I never get caught because nothing short of life or death would induce me to speed unnecessarily.