i30 Owners Club

Windscreen Wiper Question

Robbo123 · 84 · 32653

Offline Robbo123

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia

• 2012 Hyundai i30 Elite
I feel like a total noob asking this...but...the front wiper system in my new GD i30 has me stumped. I know how to use wipers, but these ones seem different. I've read the manual but it seems to make little sense. I'm not sure if thee are the same wipers used internationally.

The "lever" for the wiper control seems to have 4 locking positions.
-> Off
-> Int mode (auto rain sensing)
-> Low
-> High
^
This could be wrong, but that's what they seem to do.

HOWEVER this bit has me stumped:

My theory is that the "Int mode" should correspond with the twisting knob above. The twisting knob has:
->MIST
->OFF
->AUTO
->LOW
->HI
 But it doesn't seem to, instead it seems to just stay automatic. I.e. the knob appears to do nothing.

Anyone have any ideas/theories? I'll be sure to bring it up with my dealer at the first service.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2012, 10:59:46 by Swell »

Offline bumpkin

• V.I.P
  • Keeping it in the family!

• scotland Scotland
      Aberdeen
The intermittent mode does vary speed even on the rain sensing models.

On yours when you enter Auto mode you should get an initial sweep as the system initialises.  If you have the wiper on lowest speed you will get an intermittent wipe when it senses enough rain, but this can be sped up by twisting the dial to faster, however it is only useful if you find that the lowest speed and rain sensing is not working fast enough for you, in proper rain the intermittent will always be over-ridden by the auto system.

Hope this helps!
Brian
  • Kia Sportage 3, 1.7 CRDi EcoDynamics

Offline Robbo123

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia

• 2012 Hyundai i30 Elite