Another i30 on board...

MRH130 · 23 · 5724

Offline MRH130

• 4th Gear

• au Australia
      Canberra

• Was Crystal the i30 SR, now Courtney the Getz-tacy
Hi Everyone,

I'm another new member, with a slightly different background. I was a Service and Parts Manager at a Hyundai dealership for a couple of years (until I saw the light and got out of the industry altogether late last year!). I have had 3 Hyundais (2 Getzes and the i30) and have grown to love them, although having been in the industry I became a serious Hyundai hater from dealing with the early ones. They have really turned it around, to the point where I would not buy anything else.

I really liked the HD Elantra when it came out, but thought the styling a little dowdy and the interior just a little underdone in every model below the Elite S. Loved the i30 at first sight, and loved it more when I got inside and drove one.

My gift to myself when I left the dealer and moved on to greener pastures was the first MY09 i30 SR, in Crystal White. I added rear mudflaps (I have some fronts as well which I plan to modify to fit over the skirt), bluetooth, i30 floor mats and bonnet protectors. And my personalised plates, bearing my initials and 130 to signify i30.

Being in the position I was in, I was able to obtain the vehicle still wrapped in it's protective rice paper, and clean and Pre-Deliver it myself. Was a bit of work but a great deal of fun for me. I am the only person who has driven my car at all since it had 16km on the clock. It hit 11000km this morning, just 2 months after I first drove it. As I live 150km from work, my car does a HEAP of ks.

With my background I may have more knowledge than some about i30s, I would say I have driven 60 or 70 of them, in various specs. I still have numerous contacts, so if I can help anyone in the group, please feel free to ask.