How to stay safe, and legal, abroad - UK and europe

eye30 · 20 · 3872

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Driving abroad can be a minefield for the unprepared motorist, so here we round up essential information for staying safe and within the law when driving on the continent - as well as some of the quirkier local customs that can catch unsuspecting British drivers...

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/cars/article-2315190/How-stay-safe-legal-drive-abroad.html?ico=money^editors_choice
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Unlikely to be of help to me Lester (in the short term at least) but thanks on behalf of our other members  :goodjob2: :goodjob:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline Surferdude

• Global Moderator
  • Tyre Guru

• au Australia
      Caloundra, Queensland.
They didn't mention the most important one.

DO NOT drive on the left.
  • 2020 Kona formerly 2009 i30 Hatch 5sp Manual.

Offline Lester

• 5th Gear

• au Australia
      Batemans Bay, NSW
Having been to the UK 5 times and driven on their motorways, I shudder at the speeds of some of the vehicles whipping past at 90 mph plus, rain, hail or shine, albeit the limit is 70 mph. :Shocked:

So generally I take the A roads and if I have to go on the motorways in my 4 cylinder rental car, I stick to the No.1 or nearside lane, @ 50 to 60 mph, with the heavy vehicles, overtaking at times of course.

I like to check out the scenery in England's green and pleasant land. :razz:

About time the UK Traffic Police got stuck in started knocking off these jokers, give 'em to 75 mph then in the book. What say ye? :evil:

Yes, I know, Uncle Lester is a retired traffic cop. :lol:
  • FD i30 Trophy

Offline Doggie 1

• V.I.P