'Contagious' wi-fi virus created by Liverpool researchers

eye30 · 11 · 2009

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
A computer virus that can spread via wi-fi like a "common cold" has been created by researchers in Liverpool.

In densely populated areas with lots of wi-fi networks, the virus can go from network to network finding weaknesses.

Once in control of a wi-fi access point, it leaves computers on the network extremely vulnerable.

BBC News - 'Contagious' wi-fi virus created by Liverpool researchers
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
That is a worry (was always only a matter of time) :sweating: :fum:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline Phil №❶

• Top Gear
  • Loco, most of the time!

• au Australia
      Mos Eisley, South Australia
Why don't they research how to stop the virus, not create one.  :fum: :disapp:

What will they call, it Hepatitis W
  • 2008 SX CRDi Auto White (Lila)[hr]2010 SLX CRDi Auto Red (Ruby)

Offline Aussie Keith

• V.I.P

• au Australia
      Fitzgibbon, QLD
    • Keith and Joan's Gallery
That's what they were doing.

Its amazing how many home network devices never have the passwords changed which is what they are counting on. Then the load their own firmware which provides a backdoor.

----------

The virus, dubbed Chameleon, seeks out wi-fi access points - devices that transmit the wi-fi signal, found in many homes - that have not had their admin password changed.
Girl surfing on a laptop Many people do not change their wi-fi admin password

This password is different from the one used to log on to the wi-fi network itself, and is often left unchanged from the default setting.