i30 Owners Club

Will you be replaced by a robot? Jobs study reveals 100 occupations most and least at risk of automa

eye30 · 17 · 2618

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue

Millions of workers in the UK are in danger of being replaced by computers and robots, a study from Oxford University has suggested. 

The academic paper looked at 700 of the most common occupations and ranked them from 0 (no risk of automation) to 1 (very high risk of automation).

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/money/news/article-2642880/Table-700-jobs-reveals-professions-likely-replaced-robots.html

• 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline The Gonz

• Admin
  • Afghanistan Vet

• au Australia
      Adelaide

• Callsign GUNZ
If my job could be replaced by a robot, I wouldn't be satisfied doing it. :cool:
  • Frugal Firty: FDSLXCRDi5spHyperSilverBodyKit+Mods & MrsG'sPDSRPrem

Offline beerman

• V.I.P

• au Australia
If we are smart we as a planet will put a limit on automation.

But we are not, and I fear for the future.....Where are the unskilled jobs going to be, and there won't be enough skilled jobs for everyone....
  • A woman drove me to drink and I didn't even have the decency to thank her..

Offline Aussie Keith

• V.I.P

• au Australia
      Fitzgibbon, QLD
    • Keith and Joan's Gallery
I suspect there's some confusion. While some tasks can be automated, you still need people to control the automation, setup the job, perform QA. CAD/CAM has replaced the craftsmanship component of furniture manufacture for example, and yet someone still has to design the piece, create the program, setup the machinery, load the materials and so on. So the work has not vanished, per se. Its just redistributed the skilled labour intensive bit into a number of other jobs.