Air-powered car edges closer

eye30 · 16 · 2436

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Fancy a car that runs on thin air? We all would, and Peugeot is almost ready to turn it from science-fiction to science-fact.

The firm is ready to actually demonstrate its Hybrid Air technology, where a 208 supermini runs partly on petrol and partly on compressed air, resulting in astonishing fuel economy figures topping 140mpg.

A compressed air tank beneath the boot stores energy, while clever engine management swaps between petrol and air to achieve maximum efficiency. At times, particularly in urban environments, the engine can run on air alone. At these times there are no CO2 emissions and no fuel is consumed.

:link: Air-powered car edges closer - BT
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Just Rick

• V.I.P
  • Big Dogs Rule

• au Australia
      Beverley Western Australia

• miracles can happen
Cool but bet it will be as expensive as all get out
  • 2011 SLX CRDI 6 Spd, 2010 Holden Cruze CD Diesel and 2001 Hyundai Accent Coupe

Offline Phil №❶

• Top Gear
  • Loco, most of the time!

• au Australia
      Mos Eisley, South Australia
Problem is, storing enough compressed air to be worthwhile. I wouldn't want to be sitting on top of the cylinder in a prang, especially if there's a fuel fire, too.
  • 2008 SX CRDi Auto White (Lila)[hr]2010 SLX CRDi Auto Red (Ruby)

Offline Just Rick

• V.I.P
  • Big Dogs Rule

• au Australia
      Beverley Western Australia

• miracles can happen
Problem is, storing enough compressed air to be worthwhile. I wouldn't want to be sitting on top of the cylinder in a prang, especially if there's a fuel fire, too.

I really don't think you would have to worry  :rofl:
  • 2011 SLX CRDI 6 Spd, 2010 Holden Cruze CD Diesel and 2001 Hyundai Accent Coupe

Offline asathorny

• V.I.P
  • Wonky Donkey

• england England