i30 Owners Club

Whirring Noise in Reverse

Offline marabak

• 2nd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Liverpool
Hey guys

I'm a newbie driver and my i30 is the only car I've owned (and only the second I've driven including the instructors diesel Corsa during my lessons). I have had it since September, and it is a 58 plate i30 SE with about 46000 miles on the clock.

Last night, I was taking it out of the parking area around behind my flat so that my girlfriend can use it for a few days whilst her Focus is having its window wipers repaired, and when I put it into reverse and brought the clutch up to the bite point, instead of feeling any pull from the car, I just got a high pitched whirring noise. I took it out of reverse into neutral, then went back into reverse and it worked fine. I manoeuvred back, moved forward again in 1st (the spots are quite awkward) then went back into reverse, and the same thing happened, with the same fix. I drove it out on to the street and then my girlfriend drove home in it with no other problems.

The whirring noise is loud enough to be heard from outside the vehicle (my girlfriend heard it), and I am pretty sure I didn't have the accelerator pressed at the same time (I was edging backwards). As my girlfriend has the car at the moment, I'm not able to test to see if it is currently happening still until probably tonight.

Any ideas what might be the culprit? As I am a new driver, I'm still unsure what are car problems or what might be something to do with my driving technique. Should I take it to a garage to get them to look at it?

Thank you

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue

If it is ok now and when you check later i would guess it wasn't fully in reverse.

What you heard may be the gear teeth catching each others as the moving teeth clatter against the still ones.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline asathorny