Speed camera hidden by trees is unfair on motorists, says driver

eye30 · 28 · 4246

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
A speed camera on the A4 near Bath which has earned £100,000 in six weeks is breaking visibility rules, say drivers – because it’s hidden by foliage.

A permanent speed camera has caught more than 1,000 speeding motorists in just six weeks – because, say drivers, it’s hidden behind a tree.

The once de-commissioned camera was reactivated in February and has since flashed 1,000 drivers for exceeding the 30mph speed limit, netting £100,000 in fines in the process.

:link: Speed camera hidden by trees is unfair on motorists, says driver - BT
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
Fat chance they have of getting a refund.

They should have bought a Garmin Nuvi which displays speed limits for each road and chimes if you are exceeding the limit.
  • 2021 KIA Niro3 1.6 petrol Hybrid

Offline Wingerdave

• 5th Gear
  • Brummie born and bred

• nl Netherlands
      Raamsdonksveer
I could have sworn that the fixed camera's had to be visible in the UK, that's why they paint them like hi-vis jackets or warn about them with signage. There are even warnings for the mobile camera's.

But then again, you shouldn't speed  :goodjob:
  • 2015 i30 GO! 1.6 GDi 5d Hatch, 6MT, Phantom Black

Online Surferdude

• Global Moderator
  • Tyre Guru

• au Australia
      Caloundra, Queensland.
Yep.
Don't speed.  No fine.
Easy peasy.
  • 2020 Kona formerly 2009 i30 Hatch 5sp Manual.

Offline FatBoy

• V.I.P

• au Australia
      Cygnet, Tasmania
Poor motorists, "I broke the speed limit and got caught!!  How dare they put a speed camera on the road and then catch me breaking it."