IPhones 'disabled' if Apple detects third-party repairs

eye30 · 11 · 1667

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
The latest software update for iPhone 6 handsets is allegedly rendering the devices useless if it detects repairs not carried out by Apple.

The problem is known as "error 53" and has appeared in Apple products before.

The Guardian reports that users' phones were disabled after the Touch ID home button was repaired by a non-Apple engineer.

The issue appears to arise once devices have been updated to the latest operating system, iOS 9.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-35502030
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Phil №❶

• Top Gear
  • Loco, most of the time!

• au Australia
      Mos Eisley, South Australia
Typical Apple.

Sad for those who own one  :disapp:
  • 2008 SX CRDi Auto White (Lila)[hr]2010 SLX CRDi Auto Red (Ruby)

Offline ibrokeit

• V.I.P
  • Author of War & Peace

• au Australia
      Brisbane
Apple told the paper that iPhone software checks whether any repairs were authorised by Apple.

A spokeswoman said: "When an iPhone is serviced by an unauthorised repair provider, faulty screens or other invalid components that affect the touch ID sensor could cause the check to fail if the pairing cannot be validated.

Not sure if the first sentence is what was communicated - or the writers understanding/interpretation of the second sentence (and/or others) - which alludes to what is actually being done/checked will couching it in terms to make it seem wider than it is.  In other words I think they made a generalising statement on something that was already a generalising/mis-direction statement, but one that still contains the truth.