i30 Owners Club

Rust on Rear doors - WARNING

JayJay31 · 38 · 13698

Offline JayJay31

• 1st Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Bristol
My 6 year old i30 has got internal rust on both rear doors.  The Hyundai garage said that he has seen several cases of this recently.  Hyundai refuse to cover this under the anti-perforation warranty because the cover excludes anything above the bottom of the windows!!  So be warned... 1) there is obviously a manufacturers default on the hyundai's that allows the internal areas of the doors to rust. 2) these aren't covered by the warranty.  After speaking to the customer service team at Hyundai I will NEVER buy a car from Hyundai again.  To replace one door and repair the other will be £1,500.

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Is the limit detailed in the t&c's.

If not then surely covered
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Asterix

• V.I.P
  • i40 CRDi 100kW 2013

• dk Denmark
      Sdr. Omme - DK
I'm not aware of any internal rust on my 8,5 year old i30.

Do you have pics of the areas with rust..? I'm also very interested regarding "the cover excludes anything above the bottom of the windows"
  • i40 CRDi 100 kW 2013

Offline asathorny

• V.I.P
  • Wonky Donkey

• england England
      Manchester City centre

• Curmudgeon
Mine is 6.5 yrs old, no problems...

Been the best and most reliable car I have ever owned, bar none. :goodjob: :goodjob: :goodjob:

Offline Surferdude

• Global Moderator
  • Tyre Guru

• au Australia
      Caloundra, Queensland.
Mine is over 6 years old. Lived all its life within a couple of kilometers of the Pacific Ocean with prevailing onshore winds.
No rust.

But it's a concern that someone in Hyundai UK thinks they can say something like it's not covered BELOW the windows.
  • 2020 Kona formerly 2009 i30 Hatch 5sp Manual.

Offline wbm00

• 4th Gear

• gb United Kingdom